REsin Crystalisation and the art of boiling water

I had made a poor assumption.  My Fibreglassing resin had become a large solid object that resembled a salt lick.  Its previous form, a liquid that flowed like oil, was long gone.  My poor assumption was that I had fucked it up somehow. Put the hardener lid on the wrong bottle and somehow it had magically screwed the metaphorical pooch.   After reading a single line on of text on skibuilders it got me thinking (googling). I can’t actually find the line now but it was something like “I microwave my resin to get rid of the crystals.”  A quick google search found me here

http://www.entropyresins.com/epoxy-crystallization-explained

A few minutes later found me in the kitchen boiling water.  I popped my resin in a bucket and poured hot water over it.  I now have a smooth flowing liquid again and a spare $100 bucks to spend on other things.  YEAH!

Good day for me.

Leave a comment